Wolf Dressed up in Sheep’s Clothing

Before I begin my story, I just want to point out one thing that disturbs me about these gifting circles (and really did before I joined one); that is the groups come across as really cult-like. You ask them questions to which may challenge the structure of these circles, and the answers always seem automated. You get told the same old bull without any real evidence to back their claims. It’s as if the women giving you these automated answers were fed them by the elders, and were told they hold the truth about Circle, not the dozens of articles you have access to online.

yet here you are, probably coming across this website looking for your own answers, and I’m glad. Your personal enlightenment comes hand-in-hand with reality based facts, and no matter what spin these Women’s Circles put on it, there is no enlightenment in capitalising on 88% who will lose their money investing in these groups. The solo mothers who want to fund their children’s education, the sick, the struggling, the naive — they all forfeit the little money they probably don’t have in hopes of creating a better life for themselves, yet there is someone out there, sipping a Pina Colada on a beach in Croatia, $50,000 richer (with positive intent, I’m sure) due to this lie, due to this capitalism. it’s basic mathematics, and I’m not even that great at math.

I was sponsored in a fractal circle group. My mum leant me $250 to ‘gift” so that I could become an Appetizer. Eventually I would move up to Dessert and pay my mum back the $250, while also banking $4750 myself.

When I first heard of the Fractal, I wasn’t totally convinced. I wasn’t drawn to it, but mum really wanted me to, and I wanted to help her also, so I did.

I was told I would need to join into a messaging app, and post once a day, something inspirational and “connecting” to “hold space” and to let the energy of abundance flow. Well, it sounded easy enough, and surely it wasn’t so bad I guess. They were well intending women who genuinely wanted to help each other. I still wasn’t completely feeling it though — it felt quite forced.

The catch was where I had to recruit two new people to become appetizers. I was told I should ask my very small group of friends whom most are solo mothers with postpartum depression. My insides churned at the thought, and I felt this big block to ever doing so. I couldn’t quite figure out why, they could make a really big return on this kind of investment which should help them, shouldn’t it?

Still, my intuition spoke. I never talked to anyone about it. It felt so wrong.

I sat in the same position in fractal for months, not knowing what to do. Mum couldn’t help me as she sponsored her two recruits. This is where the problem laid — the Circle stagnated and didn’t move because none of us could get recruits, despite being told by many elders before us that birthings had happened every 24 hours before.

It’s because of math. Even if the elders came back in as appetizers (and what these groups like to call a SuSu, which it’s not), appetizers will still outweigh elders. New recruits will ALWAYS be needed in order for a person to turn $5000, into $40,0000, and there are only a finate amount of people on this planet.

Our group stagnated because the Circle is not sustainable, even when they slap a “but it’s a toroidal system” and a “SuSu” label on it. It will never work when these things require new people to sustain flow.

Yet it didn’t matter this evidence that I had provided to the members in my group. They were in denial saying that every bit of evidence I had given them had already been debunked. They didn’t accept that I had told them their group wasn’t a true SuSu, and that what they were doing wasn’t sacred and enlightening at all, in fact its the complete opposite! They would say things like “but we loose out in the rat race, this is financial freedom”, but really what they’re saying is that they’re no different to our corporate society who capitalise on the working poor — the appetizers. It’s worse… it’s being dressed up as spiritual abundance and enlightenment, with the promise of women helping other women to rise and steer away from capitalism.

Oh the irony!!!

I felt sick telling my mum all this. I felt sick because I want my mum to have economic freedom she needs. I felt sick thinking that all of these elders that have gone before her are doing so at the exploitation of 88% of women who join seeking financial freedom and sisterhood. Yet when I try to explain all of this, I’m just a “blockage” to their system.

One thought on “Wolf Dressed up in Sheep’s Clothing

Leave a comment